top of page

A Gua Sha moment

Updated: Apr 27, 2023




One of my favorite skin/self-care treatment I do to get relaxed is Gua Sha.

Gua sha is an alternative type of treatment or therapy that is used in traditional Chinese medicine. The treatment involves a flat jade stone or a rose quartz that is being scraped on the skin to relieve blocked energy or tension in muscles and joints. Although there hasn't been that much research to prove the effectiveness of it, Gua Sha has become more and more popular over the last years and people have been finding out that it actually does work.

I do see that alot of medical professionals have been looking into it and writing about it, but I also read that there are several warnings for people with certain medical (skin) conditions, who should not use it. Or at least that there are risks.


I wanted to share with you why I use it on my face and why I love it so much. But first, HOW I found out about it.


So one day I was searching on the internet some natural ways to get rid of my double chin (Chile yes). And I found a bunch of advice on how to PREVENT it and some workouts to get rid of the double chin. But I wanted an easy way out! Then I thought, maybe I should go to a clinic or something to get it removed (whew), but I came across these videos of ladies on youtube, doing a 30 day challenge with the Gua Sha, to get rid of the big chin. I saw great results, so I decided to look into it and said to myself; Oohh I need this ! Now here we are..It's my favorite thing to do, I didnt got rid of the CHIN yet( because I haven't been as consistent as these pretty ladies), but I found more benefits from it.


First of all, after you use a Gua Sha on your face, it makes you feel so relaxed. Not only that, it also gives my skin a nice glow after, my face looks well rested. If you have dark undereye issues, (like I have sometimes when I don't get all my hours of beauty sleep), it will help you look less tired and the dark circles will reduce. And you know when you didn't get enough rest, your face may be looking a little dull sometimes. Gua Sha will help you brighten your appearance again. Something I just recently noticed is that it helped with relieving some tension in my jaw. While I am asleep, I'm clenching my jaws (don't know why) and during the day, I sometimes feel cramps in my jaw. Since I'm using Gua Sha more often I find that I experience some relieve from these cramps.


Some other benefits #GuaSha might have for you:

- Increased Lymph Flow

- Detoxifies skin

- Reduction of fine lines and wrinkles

- Treat Acne

- Reduce puffiness, sinus pressure, neck tension and arthritis.

- Lift and form chin (the results of getting rid of double chin, I have yet to experience that LOL)

- Firmer skin, Lift the skin

- Lift eyebrows


How to use Gua Sha;

First make sure the tool is clean, your hands are clean and most importantly; your FACE is clean and freshly washed. Then you spray a little rosewater over your face and apply almond oil or another facial oil you prefer. If you like you can use a serum and or a moisturizer instead of oil. For me , it depends on my type of routine. If it's a night routine I love to put almond oil on my face after my rosewater, if it's a morning routine I use it after my moisturizer. Make sure the Gua Sha tool can smoothly glide over your skin and you should not be putting too much pressure. Be gentle, be soft..This is your precious skin we're talking about. Slowly stroke the tool over your face , always starting in the center of your face. (Don’t forget the neck)





Needless to say that , obviously if you don't take care of your skin, you might not experience the benefit of treating your acne. I mean, the prove is always in the ''puddin'' the right products on your face and right foods in your body. Also do not forget to drink your water and or smoothies.

Gua Sha is a TOOL to ASSIST treating acne and all it's little demons (blemishes, black/whiteheads etc). It is not a miracle wand for it.


Either way it is worth trying. Give yourself permission to make more time for yourself, even if you want to do this in the morning. Add this to your selfcare routine. We are always rushing out of the door, instead, learn to get up on time and have a moment of selfcare, while listening to some relaxing music. Some jazz in the morning, some gospel or affirmations you might want to listen to (Toni Jones is my fav) or just simply some binaural sounds. Life changing. It's also a nice way to have some intimate time with your beau. Thank me later!





Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page